Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Derek Prior-- The Resurrection of Deacon Shader

Derek Prior read Drama, Classics and History at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. He studied Mental Health Nursing at the University of Sussex and read Theological Studies at the University of Notre Dame, Western Australia. He is the founder of the online discussion community Mysticism Unbound. He works as a Personal Trainer and author.

The Resurrection of Deacon Shader: “Plague strikes at the heart of Sarum and flesh-eating mawgs have been seen in the sewers.
As Governor Gen struggles to save the populace, the Abbey of Pardes is attacked by an army of undead and a piece of the legendary Sun Stone is stolen from the Grey Abbot. The holy knight, Deacon Shader, is sent to the plague-city to retrieve it, but he is a man with conflicts of his own, and a destiny that will test his faith to the limits.
If Shader should fail, the Sun Stone will fall into the hands of a being from the mists of pre-history who will harness its power to unweave all of Creation. “

Q: What will e-readers like about your book?
The Resurrection of Deacon Shader is a fantasy epic in the tradition of David Gemmell & R.E. Howard. It features memorable characters, sword and sorcery action and themes of suffering and redemption.

Q: Why did you go indie?

Independent publishing offered me total creative freedom to tell stories as I see fit. It’s been more fun than I’d expected. There are great communities of indie writers offering all manner of support and advice; plus I’ve had the chance to work with some fabulous artists and editors.

Q: Who are your favorite authors in your genre?
I was brought up on the works of R.E. Howard, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Lin Carter, Michael Moorcock et al and still feel their influence in my writing. I’ve learned a lot from Stephen Donaldson, Joe Abercrombie and Stephen King, but my biggest influence is probably David Gemmell.


Barnes & Noble


No comments:

Post a Comment