Friday, June 3, 2011

Storm World Trilogy (Book 1: Speaker of the Gods) - Jonathan DeCoteau

Title: Storm World Trilogy (Book 1: Speaker Of The Gods).  All three available on Kindle.
Bio: Author of The Naked Earth, winner of the Online Review of Books and Current Affairs Best Fiction Book 2008.

Product description: Storm World (Book 1: Speaker of the Gods) is an apocalyptic coming-of-age epic about an ancient Christian order, The Resurrection Men, knights of the end times who’ve plotted for millennia to survive The Maelstrom, a supernatural storm two thousand years in the making that will ultimately transform Earth into Stormworld.

As the novel begins, unsuspecting teen Samuel Johnson holds watch over a mysterious coastal mansion called The House On The Sea, which includes chambers that resemble an ancient ark. When his visionary cousin, John David, arrives for a funeral with mysterious followers, then stays, rebuilding this ark, Samuel fights to solve the mystery of his cousin and rid himself of this apocalyptic gang, only to see the earth dying all around him. Samuel also learns of their ancient prophecy of The Stormbearer, the one who will walk with The Maelstrom and decide who lives and who dies in the final hours. To fulfill the prophecy, Samuel must make a grave choice, one that may shape human history or lead to its destruction.

Q: What will e-readers like about your book?  Of course I'm biased, but I do think it's well-written for only $0.99.  It's also a trilogy with a continuing saga.  Storm World: The Wave Dancer and Storm World: Rise Of The Stormbearer are also available on Kindle.

Q: Why did you go indie? These books were a labor of love.  After fifteen years of editorial and agent near misses, I just wanted to share the series with any readers who (ideally) might enjoy the work as much as I do.

Q: Who are your favorite authors in your genre?

Ursula Le Guin certainly stands out in my mind.

No comments:

Post a Comment